Mathematics

Mathematics @ Danforth!

Mathematics is a scientific body of knowledge focused on the key concepts of quantity, structure, space, and change. It is a method of looking at the world in terms of patterns, and mathematicians seek out these relations in nature and in society. Mathematicians explore such concepts, aiming to formulate new conjectures and establish their truth by rigorous deduction from appropriately chosen axioms and definitions.

Through the use of abstraction and logical reasoning, mathematics evolved from counting, calculation, measurement, and the systematic study of the shapes and motions of physical objects. Knowledge and use of basic mathematics have always been an inherent and integral part of all members of society.

Unprecedented changes that are taking place in today’s world will profoundly affect the futures of today’s students in terms of their mathematical understanding. To meet these demands of the world in which they will live, students will need to adapt to changing conditions and to learn independently. They will require the ability to use technology effectively and the skills for processing large amounts of quantitative information.

Today’s mathematics curriculum must prepare students for their tomorrows. It must equip them with essential mathematics knowledge and skills; with skills of reasoning, problem solving, and communication; and, most importantly, with the ability and the incentive to continue learning on their own. Mathematical knowledge becomes meaningful and powerful in application. Rich problem-solving situations can be drawn from closely related disciplines, such as computer science, physics, or technology, as well as from subjects historically thought of as distant from mathematics, such as political science or art.

At Danforth, these links between disciplines are carefully explored, analyzed, and discussed to emphasize the pervasiveness of mathematical knowledge and mathematical thinking in all subject areas.

The mathematics program at DCTI enables students to:

  • Develop generalizations of mathematical ideas and methods through the exploration of applications, the effective use of technology, and abstract reasoning.
  • Investigate relationships to develop equations of linear and nonlinear functions of higher degree polynomials and rational functions, logarithmic functions, exponential functions and trigonometric functions.
  • Investigate geometric properties and relationships involving two-dimensional shapes and three-dimensional figures and apply the results to applications and optimization problems.
  • Apply extended algebraic skills in problem solving and mathematics contests.
  • Engage in abstract extensions of core learning to deepen their mathematical knowledge and enrich their understanding.

The Mathematics Department offers the following math courses covering essential, applied, academic, college, mixed and university levels through grade 9 to grade 12.

 

Grade 9 Courses

MAT1L Mathematics (Essentials)

MFM1P Foundations of Mathematics (Applied)

MPM1D/P Principles of Mathematics (Academic)

 

Grade 10 Courses

MAT2L

MFM2P Foundations of Mathematics (Applied)

MDM2D/P Principles of Mathematics (Academic)

 

Grade 11 Courses

MEL3E Mathematics for Work and Everyday Life (Workplace Preparation)

MBF3C Foundations for College Mathematics (College Preparation)

MCF3M Functions and Applications (University/College Preparation)

MCR3U/P Functions (University Preparation)

 

Grade 12 Courses

MEL4E Mathematics for Work and Everyday Life (Workplace Preparation)

MAP4C Foundations for College Mathematics (College Preparation)

MDM4U Mathematics of Data Management (University Preparation)

MHF4U Advanced Functions (University Preparation)

MCV4U Calculus and Vectors (University Preparation)    

 

Mathematics Department Members
Teacher Email Phone
Thomas Jackson (CL) thomas.jackson@tdsb.on.ca 416.393.0620 Ex 20080
Rodrigo Arenas rodrigo.arenas@tdsb.on.ca
Stephen Bhario stephen.bhario@tdsb.on.ca
Jessica Chan jessica.chan@tdsb.on.ca
Francine Cheung francine.cheung@tdsb.on.ca
Kammen Cheung kammen.cheung@tdsb.on.ca
Paul Chiu paul.chiu@tdsb.on.ca
Natylia Dzikh natylia.dzikh@tdsb.on.ca
Maxwell Francis maxwell.francis@tdsb.on.ca
Howard Kwan howard.kwan@tdsb.on.ca
Spencer Thomason spencer.thomason@tdsb.on.ca